The Dawson Springs Independent School District is fully accredited by the Kentucky Department of Education and serves approximately 700 students. The school district boundaries include the Tradewater River to the south and west, the railroad line to the east and the West Kentucky Parkway to the north. Students from other school counties and school districts are accepted for enrollment with the approval of the Administrative Staff and the agreement of the School District where the student lives.

A staff of approximately 100 people are employed by the school district. Dawson Springs Elementary School enrolls students in grades Kindergarten through 6th grade. Dawson Springs Junior High/High School serves students in grades 7 through 12. Both schools are located on the same campus at 317 Eli Street, Dawson Springs, KY.

follow me on facebook

Like our school on facebook.

Dawson Springs Independent School District

118 East Arcadia Avenue

Dawson Springs, KY  42408


Lenny Whalen, Superintendent

School Counts

The “School Counts” program develops high school students for success in education. This will in turn yield benefits to Dawson Springs and Hopkins County for years to come in the form of an educated and qualified workforce.

Find out how students, parents and businesses can participate.



Madisonville Community College

Dawson Springs is supported by the Madisonville Community College, which is part of the Kentucky Community & Technical College System (KCTCS).